Welcome to the Java Programming Forums


The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!


The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.


>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING


Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Why do I get this error on one VPS but not the other?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Why do I get this error on one VPS but not the other?

    Ok, I'm new to this forum and don't have much experience coding with Java...

    I have 2 VPS's, One is running Windows Server 2012 R2 Datacenter, and the other is Linux based.

    On the Windows VPS, I am running a server/emulation software written in Java (obviously) and it works perfectly fine with no errors. I then went to setup the software on my new and beter VPS running Linux but that is when I got this error: Exception in thread "Thread-0" java.lang.NullPointerException

    At first I though it was something I had done wrong with some installations so I refreshed the VPS but the same error occurs. I have also setup a couple of VPS's/VMs using whats left of my Microsoft Azure trial but the same error is occuring.
    I cannot figure out why the software runs fine on my main PC and current Windows VPS but not on other VPS's

    I didn't make this program so I can't edit the source. I would link to the source but for some reason with the link, the post is denied....

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    22,638
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 2,417 Times in 2,370 Posts

    Default Re: Why do I get this error on one VPS but not the other?

    If you don't understand my answer, don't ignore it, ask a question.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Why do I get this error on one VPS but not the other?

    And didn't include all the information here either. Some of the stack trace is missing.

    Best head on over to Dream.In.Code for this one.
    Tim Driven Development

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 8th, 2014, 06:25 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2014, 08:44 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 30th, 2013, 05:52 PM
  4. Problems with A* Map Search - GC Overload Error and Null Error
    By puneeth.meruva in forum What's Wrong With My Code?
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 18th, 2013, 03:01 PM