Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Java Concurrent Programming

Thanks

Default Java Concurrent Programming

Hello Members,
    I am kind of new to java programming (started working in java last 3-4 months)... I am working on an applicaiton which handles lot of transactions on a daily basis...I tried useing threadpool for handling concurrent requests by using the Linked Blocking Queue. The thread pool always will have 50-100 threads running in the background and these will share the work. What happens here is that I am not seering the real concurrency here due to some reasons...Each thread will pick the message from this LBQueue and open a seperate commandline process to run some command and give the output back as std out or as a file which will then be put into the queue. Servlet then will pick the response from the queue and returns to the caller. Right now, I am getting the only 2-3 transactions per second but I want to achieve atleast 10-15 TPS rate..I tried to increase the thread pool size from 25 to 50, 100, 200 but not seeing any CPU hike rather than its taking longer processing time. Can anybody help me how I can achive better TPS with concurrent programming in java...

Any help would be greately appreciated.. Thanks in advance....

Sudhakar

Thanks