Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Completely New to Java

Thanks

Question Completely New to Java

I have some experience with C++ and a little C with Win32 but no Java (0, NONE, ZIP).

I've heard quite a lot about Java and I thought I'd give it a try but there's one BIG problem...

I cant even imagine how to use a Java compiler/interpreter or whatever is used to make .exe files...

I need all the help I can get to start programming in Java so please tell me what I need to do first

and the steps involved... recommendations, anything that will help me start Java programming...

Thanks

Default Re: Completely New to Java

Java runs off of a vm so what it compiles to its java byte code. This byte code is then read by a non-native program and turned into a file only read by java. AKA a .jar file. If you want to make exe files then java really isn't for you. You should do .NET then since .NET makes a special kind of exe that is managed.

Thanks
    Blog Entries

Java's syntax is based off of C/C++'s, so it shouldn't be too hard for you to pick up.