Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Ways of Transferring Data

Thanks

Default Ways of Transferring Data

Let me start of with an introduction. My name is Zyle. I have been programming with Java since late 2006. It would be safe to say that I've programmed more than 4 hours a day since then. I am currently attending a university for Software Development and Software Application Technology. I wouldn't say that I know a lot, but I certainly have experience with Java, as well as other popular languages.

Now that you know a little bit about me, let's get to the good stuff. I am currently trying to create a simple way for transmitting data in a client-server model. I have used the standard java.net classes in the past, and have recently been working with NIO. I have used MINA and Netty, and while they both have their pros/cons, I'd prefer to write my own library. I have asked this question in another community (not specifically focused on Java), and got different answers. However I though that I'd post here to see what your opinions are. (Note that the data transferred will be using the TCP, not UDP)

Currently, I am thinking about having 5 classes.
    1. Packet - Pretty simple, just a class to hold data being transmitted to the client/server.