Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Encapsulation question regarding ArrayLists

Thanks

Default Encapsulation question regarding ArrayLists

Hi there. I've been working on a side project outside of class (I'm a Software Engineering student at Uni) which is really just a simple Banking system to help my understanding of Java. Basically the program reads existing accounts from a .txt file which are then placed into an ArrayList (they are split into Account objects).

The user can then choose to create a new account which added to the ArrayList or edit an existing one. I have three classes - the main class, Account class and UserInterface class. The main class holds all the methods such as SaveAccount (writes the accounts into file) etc. the Account class defines the account and then the UserInterface produces a UI to the user and interacts with them. The problem is I have the ArrayList in the main class and the only way to access it in UserInface is through making it public. My lecturer said this is bad since then the UserInterface class can edit it which I don't want. The thing is though I can't make the Account methods private as I want to edit them until they are put into the ArrayList so I'm not sure how to do it.