Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: List that generates new item variables?

Thanks

Default List that generates new item variables?

Hi all,

I'm very very new to Java and am trying to create a simple inventory management system. My question may be answered somewhere else but I don't know what search terms to use. In trying to find solutions I kept getting referring to ArrayList but I don't think that this is what I'm looking for.

What I'm trying to do right now is to create a list based off of user input in a do while loop (current code below). So, rather than declare Item1, Item2, Item3, etc... I would like this loop to ask the user to enter an item and then ask them if they want to enter another item, if they do want to enter another item I would like java to create the variable for me and name it Item2.

I would think there is a simple way to achieve this bu I wouldn't know where to start. Any ideas?

public static void main(String[] args) {
            Scanner user_input = new Scanner(System.in);
            String Continue;
            do{
                String Item;
                System.out.print("Enter Item Name:\t");
                Item = user_input.next();

System.out.print("Continue? Y/N:\t");
                Continue = user_input.next();