Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Contributing To Open Source

My Mood
    Busy
    Thanks

Post Contributing To Open Source

Hello Friends,
    I am doing Java since 5 or 6 months, so i am basically a beginner in Java.
    But i have done C/C++ for like 2 years.

I would really like to contribute to Open Source & to learn from the experts there. I know i am a beginner but i have read forums and blah blah on the net and they say that even a beginner could contribute. I signed up at GIT hub & when i see the projects there & they are quite interesting. But when i try to read the code i don't understand a single line of their code.

Its not that i don't know anything about java. I have made my own simple text editor and am currently working on another project of my own. I know its not something very difficult but ya you can say i know a little bit about java. I am good a Data Structures & Algorithms.

I would really appreciate if you could tell me how my approach should be towards understanding the open source code on GIThub & to start with some simple projects suggestions or if you know of a project on GIThub or any other OpenSource foundation where i would be able to understand the code & and then contribute some of my own.

Super Moderator
    My Mood