Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: I'm new to Java. Help please.

My Mood
    Confused
    Thanks

Default I'm new to Java. Help please.

Hello

Well I'm new to all this Java stuff. I'm doing it as one of my modules in my degree.

I have watched various videos and read the odd book, but to be honest none of it makes much sense or sinks in. In class they have give us some tutorials that we do Step by Step, (very basic tasks, like simple math equations, shapes, volume calculator, etc). I was wandering if anyone knew any place I could get tutorials like this that I could just get on with and do.

I would like tutorials that give me tasks to do, and explain why I'm doing each thing.

This is an example of one of the tutorials that I have already done

"Exercise 3: Using rational numbers

In all of the previous exercises you’ve looked at, all of your manipulation has been either of
    strings, or integers. However, Java also allows other types of data to be used. In particular, you often want to make
    use of rational (non-integer) numbers. When you’re programming, you’ll be representing these numbers as decimal numbers (i.e. in base 10).
    To get to grips with using decimal numbers, write a program that does the following: