Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: How to create and use Hashtable, ArrayList (really urgent, please)

Thanks

Exclamation How to create and use Hashtable, ArrayList (really urgent, please)

Hi guys,

I'm new to Java, and little bit confused with arrays. It's easy to do it in PHP, but it is different in Java.

I need to create an array, like the one listed below, and print it using "for" loops. Could you please help me with that. Thanks in advance.

myCatsAndSubcats = array(
    "Books" => array(
    "Book1", "Book2", "Book3"
    ),
    "Food" => array(
    "Food1", "Food2", "Food3"
    ),
    "Medical" => array(
    "Pills1", "Pills2", "Pills3"
    ),
    );

I guess I need something like Hashtable<String, ArrayList<String>> myCategories = new Hashtable<String, ArrayList<String>>();

So now I need to add several categories(to be precise, "Books", "Food", "Medical"), and for each particular category I need to add the list of its subcategories.

Do I need to fill categories first, with elements (Book, Food, Medicals), and than use put() method for each one?

categoryMap.put("Book", "Book1");
    categoryMap.put("Book", "Book2");
    categoryMap.put("Book", "Book3");

categoryMap.put("Food", "Food1");
    etc.

How do I actually add elements to categories?