Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Question on do-while loops

Thanks

Default Question on do-while loops

Hi, I'm currently trying to sort out a few problems with a program I'm trying to write. I'm pretty new to this, so the solution is probably going to be obvious, but here goes...

I have two seperate do-while loops (though they are very similar to each other) and which of the loops that is run depends on a boolean input from the user. The amount of times the loops is run depends on an int input from the user. Here's the problem I'm having - if I put the scanner for the int input (for the number of times the loop is run) inside the loop, then it works fine, however, the user keeps getting asked how many times the loops will be run over and over again for as many times as the loop is run, obviously because that code is inside the loop. If I put that code outside of the two loops, then the loops won't run more than once.

Here's the relevant code. I tried to edit it down because the program is quite long, but if I've left out anything important let me know.

boolean boolean1;

int innings = 0;

int innings2 = 0;

int numberofinnings;

Scanner sc;

sc = new Scanner(System.in);

System.out.println("Will player one be batting first? (true/false)");