Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Help with my Java program: Making change from an entered double.

My Mood
    Confused
    Thanks

Lightbulb Help with my Java program: Making change from an entered double.

Hi everyone. I am a beginner of beginners in Java. I'm not a CS or programming major but I am now taking a Java course because it is required. I look forward to hearing your insight.

I'm working on a program that is designed to make change from an entered value, only using Ten, Five, and One dollar bills and Quarters, Dimes and Nickels. The amount must round up to the nearest nickel. So for example if I entered $35.77, the output should be something like;

Ten dollar bills: 3
    Five dollar bills: 1
    One dollar bills: 0
    Quarters: 3
    Dimes: 0
    Nickels: 1 //because it is rounding up.

I'm very confused on what methods I should be using to write this program. This is what I have so far, can someone tell me what is wrong? Thank you in advance, much appreciated.