Welcome to the Java Programming Forums


The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!


The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.


>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING


Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: David

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default David

    Hi,

    I have a simple file drag and drop applet that I have deployed on a web server and had running for some time in both 1.6 and 1.7.

    Just recently, however, I have been getting a "Javascript compilation error. Expected ';'". As far as I know nothing has been changed to my code. In fact running the online java test (http://java.com/en/download/javatest.jsp) yields the same results. So I conclude that the java installation has failed in some way.

    I have tried to reinstall but it has not made any difference.

    Any ideas??

    thanks
    David


  2. #2
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    25,042
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 2,708 Times in 2,658 Posts

    Default Re: David

    What has change since it was last working?
    What is different about where and when it was working and where it is now failing?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: David

    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    What has change since it was last working?
    What is different about where and when it was working and where it is now failing?
    Hi Norm,

    I wish I knew. Unfortunately I am not in control of the infrastructure in question and those that are, are unsure as to what has changed.

    It works fine on my machine and others in my area but in the other location (separate city and network) the system is displaying this issue.

    I have removed Java (v 1.6) and reinstalled it but this did not solve the issue. Unfortunately the error message is so unhelpful that I do not know where to begin.

    So I thought I would throw it out to the collective wsdom of the community.

    thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    25,042
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 2,708 Times in 2,658 Posts

    Default Re: David

    "Javascript compilation error. Expected ';'"
    Where is this message displayed? Is there more?
    Can it be screen printed and posted as an image

    How does Javascript relate to the applet?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    106
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Default Re: David

    what are the chances that the code got corrupted on the hard drive? try taking a copy of the code you know works(from one of those other computers) and re upload it to the server in question.

    long shot i know, but its all I can think of given the error message.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: David

    Hi

    The issue appears to be associated with the Java initialisation because the error (below) comes up with any applet when it is first run in the browser.

    This is a screen snippet taken from the standard Java test page (http://java.com/en/download/javatest.jsp) in IE 8.

    Capture.jpg

    I am about to try install a couple of other browsers to try them.

    cheers
    Dave

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    25,042
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 2,708 Times in 2,658 Posts

    Default Re: David

    That screen says MS JScript not javascipt.
    Where does MS JScript relate/connect to a java applet?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Sean4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Tavistock, UK
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 103 Times in 93 Posts

    Default Re: David


  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: David

    The plot thickens...

    What has changed ??? Windows update! That's what.

    I found a machine on our system that was not displaying the issue and checked its updates. It had not been updated. So I ran the automatic updates and voila! The error occurred. All the updates realted to Office.

    I'll now have a look at that Bug report (thanks Sean4u)

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    25,042
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 2,708 Times in 2,658 Posts

    Default Re: David

    MS scores another one.

    What does your java applet have to do with javascript?
    Last edited by Norm; February 22nd, 2012 at 09:12 PM.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: David

    Thanks Sean4u,

    I looked at the bug report and implemented the recommendations on the last entry and it appears to do the trick. I basically changed the network settings from "Use Browser Settings" to "Use Proxy Server" and gave it the same proxy settings as the browser and it worked. Now to test it on the rest of the network...

    cheers
    Dave

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: David

    Further...

    I have just been told that we have implemented, in the last few days, a proxy.pad file to automatically set the proxy settings in IE across the organisation. Appraently Java uses this file to determine the proxies it should use as well. There were some errors in this file that IE was able to manage but which Java was not. Thanks to the bug report from Sean4u, I was able to work out where and what to look for.

    cheers
    David