Welcome to the Java Programming Forums


The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!


The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.


>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING


Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Adding a menu to an application (NetBeans)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Adding a menu to an application (NetBeans)

    So i want to add a menu to my application(not menubar).

    Снимок.jpg

    when the start button is clicked i want the main window to become visible and the menu window invisible. I cant figgure out how.
    plz help.


  2. #2
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    25,042
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 2,708 Times in 2,658 Posts

    Default Re: Adding a menu to an application (NetBeans)

    What part are you having problems with?
    Having a method called when a button is clicked.
    Making a window visible
    Making a window not visible

    Post the code you are having problems with

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Adding a menu to an application (NetBeans)

    thats the problem! it doesnt understand when i type the name of the window!
    so when i try to do
    private void click(java.awt.event.ActionEvent evt) {
    MathGuiView.setVisible(true); //<--- doesnt see that! error :(
    Menu.setVisible(false); 
    }

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Eastern Florida
    Posts
    25,042
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 2,708 Times in 2,658 Posts

    Default Re: Adding a menu to an application (NetBeans)

    Please post the full text of the error message.

    What is the symbol MathGuiView? A class name or a variable name?

Similar Threads

  1. NetBeans Desktop Application in Java
    By knightmetal in forum Java IDEs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 9th, 2011, 06:47 AM
  2. importing my application into NetBeans
    By gib65 in forum Java IDEs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 25th, 2011, 01:54 PM
  3. Please help!!! Adding java app to a web application
    By snapper in forum What's Wrong With My Code?
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 19th, 2011, 10:26 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2009, 04:43 PM
  5. adding rows to coloumns. Netbeans
    By haygaurav in forum Java IDEs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 1st, 2009, 03:16 PM