Welcome to the Java Programming Forums

The professional, friendly Java community. 21,500 members and growing!

The Java Programming Forums are a community of Java programmers from all around the World. Our members have a wide range of skills and they all have one thing in common: A passion to learn and code Java. We invite beginner Java programmers right through to Java professionals to post here and share your knowledge. Become a part of the community, help others, expand your knowledge of Java and enjoy talking with like minded people. Registration is quick and best of all free. We look forward to meeting you.

>> REGISTER NOW TO START POSTING

Members have full access to the forums. Advertisements are removed for registered users.

Thread: Binary datafile and object creation according to binary tag ?

Thanks

Default Binary datafile and object creation according to binary tag ?

Dear all,

I am new in the world of Java, so apologies my ignorance.

I've developped a c++ code for scientific visualization (with opengl). My goal would be to convert this soft from C++ to java, because I am tired to maintain it on 3 different operating systems (Windows, Linux and MacOS). However, before trying to convert such a complex program, I would like to make sure it can be converted with no dommages for the current users.

The heart of the code is the reading of a (custom) binary file containing all the objects to be displayed in a very compact format (that I don't want to describe here). But the main thing is that while reading this binary file, I am creating objects from different class (depending on the first byfe of the chunks of data that I am reading), all these objects inherits from a common base class.
    In order to initialize the objects using the "right" class, is to do a switch of the first byte and depending on the value of that byte, I initialize my object using the constructor of the right class.
    What I would like to know is: